Home Page

States of India

Hindi Literature

Religion in India


Art and Culture


History of Amethi, Uttar Pradesh

History of Amethi, Uttar Pradesh

Amethi district is the 72nd district of the state of Uttar Pradesh. This district is part of Faizabad division. It covers an area of 3,070 km. Gauriganj is the administrative headquarters of the district.

In May 2003, the then chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, Mayawati had ordered formation on a new district named Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj district, out of five tehsils from Sultanpur district and Raebareli district. However, Mulayam Singh Yadav, who became the chief minister of the state in the same year, nullified the notification of formation of this district. Yadav's nullification was challenged in court, and later, in 2010, the Supreme Court of India reverted the earlier decision made by Allahabad High Court on this matter, and allowed formation of this district.

During its formation in 2010, this district was named Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj district, after Chhatrpati Shahuji Maharaj, a social reformer in Maharashtra. On 23 July 2012 it was renamed Amethi district. This district came into existence on 1 July 2010 by merging three tehsils of the erstwhile Sultanpur district, namely, Amethi, Gauriganj and Musafirkhana and two tehsils of the erstwhile Raebareli district, namely, Salon and Tiloi.
The district comprises 5 tehsils, 16 development blocks, 17 police stations and 401 lekhpal areas.These tehsils are: Gauriganj, Amethi, Musafirkhana, Salon and Tiloi. Amethi is the largest city in this district.
The district comprises 5 Vidhan Sabha constituencies, namely, Gauriganj, Jagdishpur, Amethi, Tiloi and Salon. All of these are part of Amethi Lok Sabha constituency.

National Record 2012

Most comprehensive state website

Bihar became the first state in India to have separate web page for every city and village in the state on its website www.brandbihar.com (Now www.brandbharat.com)

See the record in Limca Book of Records 2012 on Page No. 217